From humble beginnings, Southside Eagles was established from the amalgamation of the Germania and Southside Belmont football clubs in 1968 at Memorial Park, Bulimba.

The Germania Club was formed out of the German Club in east Brisbane, by Rudi Gerhard and Guenther Pieplow and the foundation members were G, Pfuhl, W. Oldenberg, M. Wimmer, J. Matica and H. Meisser.

The Junior section, Southside Belmont, was formed by the late Joe Allen and was a breakaway from East-Aston Villa around 1965.

After the amalgamation of Southside Belmont and Germania, the Southside Eagles senior side played in the first division in 1968.Unfortunately the club was relegated to the second division and stayed there until 1974 when it was promoted to the first division. This was due to a fantastic effort in 1973 when all three senior sides won their Premiership and Grand Final.

The club remained in the first division and in 1978, under the leadership of Matt Carson, won the President’s Cup, the Ampol Cup, the Premiership and the Grand Final. The club therefore won the “Grand Slam” and, to this day, is the only club to have done so.

In 1979 the club entered the State League, but after 2 years, realised this league was a financial disaster and withdrew. The club was placed in the first division, but as many State League players decided to go to clubs still in the State League the club struggled, and the following year was relegated to second division.

After several restructures of the league by Football Queensland (formerly Qld. Soccer Federation), Southside Eagles the club was promoted in 2011 to the Premier Division 1 (now Capital 1). In 2017 the club was invited to enter the FQPL league (The Queensland State Second Division).