Club History

The origins of Southside Eagles came from the amalgamation of the Germania and Southside Belmont clubs in 1968 at Memorial Park, Bulimba. The Germania Club was formed by Rudi Gerhard and Guenther Pieplow and the foundation members were G, Pfuhl, W. Oldenberg, M. Wimmer, J. Matica and H. Meisser.

The Junior section, Southside Belmont, was formed by the late Joe Allen and was a breakaway from East-Aston Villa around 1965.

After the amalgamation of Southside Belmont and Germania, the Southside Eagles senior side played in the first division in 1968. Unfortunately, the season was a poor one and we found ourselves relegated to the second division. We stayed in the second division until 1974 when we were promoted to the first division. This was due to a fantastic effort in 1973 when all three senior sides won their Premiership and Grand Final.

We continued in the first division and in 1978, under the leadership of Matt Carson, won the President’s Cup, the Ampol Cup, the Premiership and the Grand Final. The club therefore won the “Grand Slam” and, to this day, is the only club to have done so.

In 1979 we entered the State League but, after 2 years, realised this league was a financial disaster and withdrew. After our withdrawal, we were placed in the first division, but due to the fact that many State League players decided to go to clubs still in the State League, the club struggled and the following year was relegated to second division.

After several restructures of the league by Football Queensland (formerly Qld. Soccer Federation), Southside Eagles is now in Premier Division 2. In 2010, the Eagles won the minor premieship and grand final and were promoted to Premier Division 1.